Big Sexy Hair Volumizing Dry Shampoo Review

So the other day I stumbled upon a small try me size of Big Sexy Hair Volumizing Dry Shampoo and here’s what the bottle had to say-

Big Sexy Hair Volumizing Dry Shampoo is a mineral and clay based dry shampoo, it creates volume as it absorbs impurities, excess oil and product build-up. No water necessary. It helps maintain color with less frequent washings, Talc-free formula is invisible and provides UV protection.

Tips: Leave in hair for two minutes, then brush out excess product. Provides a matte finish – if a shinier texture is desired, follow up with Big Sexy Hair Big Shine Spray. Great as a pick-me up between washings.

I liked the idea of using a mineral and clay base because I was hoping that would combat the powdery effect so many other dry shampoos leave behind.  I’ve used KMS, Kenra, Snappi’s, and a few other brands and I feel like they all leave a powdery finish or start to flake making me look like I have the hair of a powdery snow queen at the day’s end.

First, and most important to a girl… I like the smell of this dry shampoo! It’s not overpowering like some other brands I’ve tried, but it still rids hair of any oily hair scent.

Next, drum roll please…. NO WHITE RESIDUE on my red hair! That being said I feel like this has a very light/fine hairspray-ish texture to it. It makes my hair…. Stiff? No, not even stiff but more of a coated matte texture. I find myself being compelled to add some shine spry to my hair after I’ve used this dry shampoo, which seems odd to use a product to rid me of oily hair, but then have to add an oily shine spray?

I think the coated texture is what adds the volume and yes, this product does add a bit of volume to my hair but I can’t decide if I like it because it comes with a coated dirty feeling (not dirty looking) umph of volume, not a shiny umph of volume. It’s a matte finish just like the description states, but I liked that it didn’t necessarily dull down my red hair, but rather made my hair LOOK clean but FEEL dry, dirty and coated.

My tips for using this- Make sure you are spraying from FAR away! With this product since it makes your hair feel so coated use a light hand when applying. Less is more!

I also got a small can of Big Sexy Hair Weather Proof Humidity Resistant Spray which I like a lot! I spray this on after the dry shampoo and it adds a bit of shine and bounce back in my hair without the ‘oily’ shine effect, plus it helps keep my hair from frizzing out!

Despite my mixed feelings on the Big Sexy Hair Volumizing Dry Shampoo I will probably purchase a big bottle because it dries clear on my red hair, but that’s the only pro I can find with this product- but that’s a BIG pro for me. If it didn’t dry clear I would NOT recommend this product because of how it makes your hair feel.

 

 

March 9, 2012. Tags: , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

