L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow Review

To be honest I don’t wear eyeshadow very often. My everyday look is black liquid eyeliner and red lipstick, so I often feel when I add eyeshadow into the mix I look like a total whore! However, since I died my hair red I found that golds and copper shades look awesome with the new do and don’t clash with my everyday red lips (red lips get top priority in my life).

Holiday 2011 I picked up the Lancôme Ombre Magnetique eyeshdow in Disco Gold because I fell in LOVE with the gold color (it wasn’t too light nor too dark, not orange, not bronze… but just a nice aged gold color) It was my first dabble at an eyeshadow in the pressed pigment texture, and I loved it. However it wasn’t very long-lasting or very vibrant in color (it would just fade away after a few hours). Then I made the fatal mistake of leaving the lid off and it dried out entirely changing the easy application of the eyeshadow. BUMMER! I have serious issues with putting lids back on things; you have no idea how many products I’ve ruined because of this horrible habit!  (Below is a picture of my Lancôme Ombre Magnetique eyeshdow in Disco Gold to give you a visual on the comparison to the L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow).

When the L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow came onto the scene I noticed the gold/bronze shades immediately but decided to wait a while and see how the reviews were on these suckers.

Reading the reviews I noticed people talking about the pressed pigment texture, and I got a little excited because I thought of my Lancôme Disco Gold I had ruined. I caved, went to the local drug store and bought the following colors: Eternal Sunshine (hoping this would be a close match to the Lancôme disco gold), Amber Rush, and Taupe.

 From left to right- Eternal Sunshine, Amber Rush, Taupe.

Once I got home and ripped into these L’Oreal Infallible eyeshadows I realized that yes, they were a dupe of the Lancôme limited edition 2011 version! But they are even better because I feel they are more pigmented.

Onto the colors- each of these colors on their own don’t do a whole lot for me. Eternal Sunshine is not the same ‘aged’ gold as the Lancôme (even though they look so similar in the pictures), it’s close… but doesn’t have the depth I was looking for. Taupe is too brown for me, and Amber Rush is far too pink for me. I almost wish all three of these colors would have an orgy and make me a bronze-ish colored love child!

The awesome thing about these shadows is their blending abilities and the smooth velvet texture. I love eyeshadow that I can apply with my finger, applying eyeshadow with a brush always takes up too much time for me. I want to savagely blend it with my finger! With these eyeshadows you can do just that, so I started playing around and blending the colors. Turns out when I lay down a layer of Amber Rush on my lid, then blend Taupe into my crease line and then highlight my brow bone and inside corner with Eternal Sunshine I get an amazing vivid wash of golds/bronzes. They blend beautifully together! I got the orgy bronze-ish color I was after.

Lasting power on these shadows is not so great without a primer, I invested in the L’Oreal eye primer and when I use that on my lids with these shadows I got a solid 8 hours of perfect wear, and even after the 8 hours the creasing is minimal and fading is minimal. Obviously 24 hours is a hard claim to live up too, and besides that who honestly needs eyeshadow to last 24 hours? Hell, I am happy with 8 hours. Maybe it doesn’t take all that much to please me? Hmm. If that’s the case I really should have a boyfriend by now?….

Anyways I would recommend L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow’s, especially if you are looking for easy blend eyeshadows at an accessible price. I feel these are virtually screw-up proof because they blend so amazingly well. Grab a few colors and play around.

April 12, 2012. Tags: , , , . beauty.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

