Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration

I’m a BzzAgent and when I was selected for the Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Campaign I was excited, not just because I’m a skin care/product junkie… but because I am a big fan of natural products especially when they are for dry, sensitive, acne prone skin. I have fantasies about discovering miracle skin care products that leave my skin flawless (On a flawless note…. I recently ordered an airbrush make-up machine/kit that I am DYING to try out. Waiting for it’s arrival is killing me), see I’m dedicated to finding flawless!

Well Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Skin Care came at the PERFECT time, I had just ran out of my Chae Organics face wash. Plus I’ve been using Paula’s Choice BHA 9 along with my favorite acne product- Chae Organics Eracer, and while this combo has kept my skin looking pretty clear I noticed the BHA 9 can make my already dry skin a bit more dry. I was on the hunt for an intense moisturizer that would tend to my desert of a face. Then enter Burt’s Bees!

burtsBeesIntenseHydration

When I opened my Burt’s Bees package I found a Intense Hydration Face Wash, Treatment Mask, and a Night Cream.

One thing that bothered me right off the bat was the heavy scent of the products. They don’t smell bad, they smell of orange/citrus/cucumber? While the scent is light, it feels heavily scented if that makes sense? Upon investigating the ingredients I noted fragrance was listed, but there was also orange and citrus oils in the ingredients that I’m sure naturally contributed to the scent. I’ve been using mostly all natural skin care products for a few years now and I will admit a lot of them don’t smell great (dirty socks and tea tree oil) or if I’m lucky they won’t have much of a scent at all, but I’m ok with that because I have sensitive acne prone skin. I would have liked it if Burt’s Bees wouldn’t have added fragrance to this line.

Intense Hydration Face Wash- This was the first product I tried and with it’s divinely creamy texture it spread over my face like butta (without feeling greasy like butter!). It doesn’t leave a film on my face as long as I don’t overuse. If I use too much I have to be very  diligent in order to rinse away all of the creaminess. My skin feels amazingly smooth immediately after I use it, literally the first time I washed my face with it I couldn’t stop feeling my skin (too bad it wasn’t some hot guy brushing his manly warm hand on my cheek sayin ‘Oh girl you got smooth skin I can’t stop caressing it’).  Also this is a great face wash to use with the Clarisonic.

Intense Hydration Treatment Mask- I use a similar product by Paula’s Choice called ‘Skin Recovery Hydrating Treatment Mask’ so I was familiar with the concept of the Treatment Mask. For those of you who aren’t familiar with Treatment Masks it can be kind of confusing because it’s not like your typical ‘mask’ which dries and hardens or peels. Burt’s Bees Treatment Mask is a thick cream texture, you rub it onto your skin and you can either leave it on overnight or rinse it off 10 minutes or so. Note that this doesn’t really fully sink into skin with ease, so it’s not a good ‘lotion’ as it’s meant to be a treatment! I started out by testing this on a dry patch which has been plaguing my chin for 6 months. It won’t go away (I think it’s maybe eczema or something?). It’s peely, dry and some days worse than others, but this dry patch is determined to linger on my chin no matter what! It’s my arch nemesis at this point. I noticed after a few days of putting the Burt’s Bees Treatment Mask on my dry patch for 20+ minutes the dryness noticeably became smoother because I was able to take tweezers and easily peel off some of the dry flakey skin due to the Treatment Mask softening the dead flakey skin (that sounds really gross, but hey… it was a plus for me!).  I also use this under my eyes at night and it’s really adding a zest of moister to my under eye area. This is my favorite product out of the three I’ve tested. It’s a great multi-tasker for winter skin.

Intense Hydration Night Cream- Night creams freak me out a bit. My skin needs a lot of moister but I hate a sticky/greasy face. I have satin sheets and nothing is worse than tacky skin sticking to my pillow case! I find a lot of night creams are so rich, never fully sink in, and break me out. The Burt’s Bees Intense Hydration Night Cream sinks into my skin very well. I like applying this cream right after I wash my face when my skin is still a little damp, this ensures that the cream soaks in while allowing me to use less product. My skin feels like velvet after I apply but the problem is 20 minutes later it has absorbed and I feel like it doesn’t leave enough deep lasting hydration, even after a month of using it nightly it didn’t leave me any more hydrated than when I was using my day cream for my night cream. I’m not saying this product is a terrible Night Cream, and the ironic thing is I usually find night creams too rich for me and this wasn’t rich enough. t’s sort of like Goldielocks and the Three Bears… you gotta find that porridge that’s juuuuuuuuust right!

One important thing to mention is that I’ve been using all three of these products on a regular daily basis for over a month and I haven’t had any breakouts or skin reactions!

Now I can’t say I’ve seen dramatic results… don’t get me wrong, I feel like this is a good skin care line for dry skin, and I think some of the products have even helped a few of my dry patches (mainly the Intense Hydration Treatment Mask) but I can’t say any of these products are my new holy grail products. The immediate results feel amazing- like right after I wash my face, or right after I apply the cream but long-term wise I haven’t noticed a huge change in my skin, and the Intense Hydration Line claims to help skins ability to retain moister, but at the end of the day my skin is still dry even after using these products religiously for over a month. Bottom line is that for me these products show me immediate results, but not long-term results.  Now these products also claim to help soften wrinkles/lines but since I just turned 30 and thankfully don’t have any wrinkles yet (knock on wood) I can’t speak to if the product lives up to that claim.

…That being said, the big question is would I buy any of these products on my own dime? Yes. I’m mostly thrilled they haven’t broken me out, and that they are easy accessible. I buy most, well pretty much ALL of my skin care online and it’s nice to be able to pop into a local store and be able to pick up my skin care! I think the face wash and Treatment Mask will remain in my rotation of skin care products and I’ve even recommended them to friends and family… but I will still be on the hunt for something that can smooth out my dry patches long term- not just a quick few hour fix/dose of moister.

December 5, 2012. Tags: , , , , . beauty, Natural, Skin.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

